Dishsoap…My way.

{Update: I did remove the orange peel from the soap. However, it rounded out the citrus smell, nicely…so I’ll do it again.} 😉

It’s almost February in the beautiful frozen North and I decided this morning to make something FUN.

The house was just a little too quiet, so I popped over to You Tube found some tunes, and started belting out the lyrics in my kitchen as I mixed together a dish soap recipe.

  • 2 Lemons
  • 1 Orange
  • 9 cups of water
  • 1 bar of soap, shaved
  • 1/2 cup apple cider vinegar
  • 20 drops of lemon essential oil

Lemon Orange Dish Soap

The whole thing is fairly straight forward….seriously.

I grated one bar of my homemade “Nothing” soap…. 4-5 oz??

Grated a bar of "Nothing" Soap

I really need to own a REAL freakin cheese grater…this one a pain in the ass

I cleaned out the fridge a couple weeks ago and salvaged these two ketchup bottles….two out of the FOUR I HAD IN THERE!!!  ***Boys!!!***

IMG_1553

I had two geriatric lemons setting in my garden window, so I figured I’d chunk them up and simmer them in 5 cups of water.  Along with the lemons, I threw in some leftover orange peels.

IMG_1550
Squeezing, mashing and stirring…

I simmered them for 30 mins on low, extracting as much of the oil out of the skins as I could.

IMG_1555

Straining the liquid into a glass bowl, I set aside the cooling rind.

IMG_1556

Returning the citrus water back to my leaky cauldron (approximately 4 cups) I pour in the 1 1/4 cups of shaved “Nothing” Soap and 4 more cups of hot water…

Soap melts fairly quickly….

IMG_1557

The amount of bubbles you will have, will depend on the type of soap you use. My “Nothing” Soap is made with coconut oil and so it lathers well, some soap does not.  At this point I also add the 1/2 cup of Apple cider vinegar to the soap mixture.

I love the nice lemony color from the citrus fruit  😀

IMG_1558

I diced a few of the large rinds, to put in the bottle for some added color and FUN!

***It’s a grey, blustery morning….SUE ME…I’m well aware it’s going to get stuck in the spout…I don’t care. Think of it as one of those stupid kid toys with the glitter. ***

IMG_1560

I also add 10 drops of lemon essential oil to each bottle.

IMG_1561

Simple….yet effective.

Lemon Orange Dish Soap

~So…..I’m off like a herd of turtles 😉

Leave a Reply

